Friday Morning with C.W. Hime

Good morning followers and friends! I hope this day brings success to those who seek it, and rest to those who need it. I woke up this morning in a vivid dream state. I was surfing – slowly, through a sea so thick with sharks I could have stepped off the surf board and walked on their backs!

There was no sense of dread or fear. Instead, a feeling of whimsy accompanied my journey. My morning coffee was punctuated with visions a chrome celestial ships appearing out of nowhere – coming to a slow impulse power as they shift from another dimension. My 12 yr old eyes can’t believe the fantastical scene playing out before me! The noon sky sparsely dotted with cotton ball clouds becomes the scene of an invasion, or perhaps just a visit from the keepers of time.

Now I watch 12 yr old Clayton, run across the city park, glancing over his shoulder, making sure the visitors remain in the sky. Adults walk the city quadrangle apparently unaware of the events playing out over the heads.

Clayton, desperate to get home to tell his mother, runs in to a gentleman knocking him down. Both are startled by the presence of the other. Apologetically, Clayton helps the man up. A pair of gold rimmed glasses lay at their feet. Clayton starts to pick them up – “Don’t touch them!” , the man exclaims, quickly retrieving them from the ground.

Clayton looks back to the sky – a parade of chrome spaceships of every size move like clouds on a windy day. Clayton, shares glances with the stranger, who’s now wearing the glasses. Both watch the spectacle playing out overhead.

“Tell me boy, do you see them too?” The stranger asked. Clayton hesitates – “yes, I see them!” “Then we have no time”, the stranger grabbed Clayton’s arm, “come with me!”

So I guess I’ve just written a little more for my short story, “Aliens in the Park”. It will be interesting to see where this goes. Another good day lays before us! Sharpen those pencils and get to it!

Leave a comment